Travel ManagementTravel NewsVacation Travel

SKYMILES to Feature New Diamond Level in 2010

Delta/Northwest is introducing its SkyMiles program that will go into effect in Spring 2010. Most notable changes include plans for one more level of Medallion traveler called Diamond Level bringing the program to a 4-level program for preferred members. Travelers can earn Diamond status by earning 125,000 medallion qualifying miles or by flying 140 qualifying segments within the year. Additional benefits for Diamond level status will include priority for complimentary upgrades, additional system upgrades ,additional Choice benefits and Sky Club membership.

A unique feature that Delta also plans to implement is a rollover program for Medallion miles to help travelers qualify for status in 2011. Currently this is the only frequent flyer program to make this available. Basically , once a traveler has reached a status level, any additional miles accrued during the year, will “rollover “ to the following year to begin the qualifications for the next years’ status.

A gift program called Choice Benefits is another perk proposed under the SkyMiles program. When a Platinum member reaches status, they receive a choice of a bonus gift that can be extra miles, gifting Medallion status to a friend, one day Sky Club passes or Systemwide upgrade certificates. Diamond members will receive 2 gifts once the program is initiated.

For additional information see

Information provided by

Christopherson Business Travel

Christopherson Business Travel

Thank you for reading our corporate travel blog. Looking for more information about our business travel management services? Or maybe you'd like a demo of our business travel software? Check out the contact page or email to connect with our team!

Leave a Reply